At a press conference in the White House Monday, President Trump condemned the mass shootings in Texas and Ohio and formally backed "Red-Flag Laws."

"We must make sure that those judged to pose a grave risk to public safety do not have access to firearms, and that if they do, those firearms can be taken through rapid due process."

Colorado's red-flag gun law was signed into law by governor Jared Polis in April and allows judges to temporarily remove firearms from high-risk people. No Republicans voted for the bill.

Sixteen states currently have red flag laws  —Washington, Vermont, Rhode Island, Oregon, Nevada, Massachusetts, New York, New Jersey, Maryland, Indiana, Illinois, Florida, Delaware, Colorado, Connecticut, and California.

Find out more about red-flag gun laws.


More From 99.9 KEKB - Grand Junction's Favorite Country