New Laws For 2019 In Colorado
Now that we have turned the page to 2019, let's take a look at the changes in the law we have recently passed.
Increase in Minimum Wage
The minimum wage in Colorado is now $11.10 per hour, an increase of 90 cents from 2018. Voters approved the increase in 2016 under Amendment 70, which will increase again in 2020 to $12 an hour.
Increase in State Parks fees
Daily passes will increase by $1 while the annual parks pass will increase by $10.00. Fishing licenses will increase by $8 to $33 with big game licenses increasing by $8 as well.
Immigrant Driver's License
If one cannot prove their legal status in the U.S., they will now be able to use a Social Security number to get a drivers license, an instructional permit or ID card. Previously using a Social Security number was unacceptable, instead of using a tax ID number.
Marijuana Rate Increase
While this won't be obvious early on to consumers, rates for marijuana have increased as well. A pound of bud and trim increased $22 to $781 per pound and the trim rate cost increased $71 to $396 per pound. The average market rate is a way for retail marijuana establishments to determine how much tax they will have to pay.
Full Strength Beer
Prior to 2019, you could only buy beer with 3.2% beer but as of New Year's day, you can now purchase "full strength" beer. Under the law, stores must be at least 500 feet away from any school and employees must be at least 18 years of age to sell it.