How often do you see expired tags while driving in Colorado? I will be honest here and say that I see it all too often. This week, I have seen at least three vehicles with Colorado license plates with tags that expired in the first half of 2019. It's a big issue in Colorado.

If you are driving a $75,000 vehicle and your temporary registration happened to expire in June of 2022, you should be aware that we are all judging you. This goes for out-of-state plates too. Often times these out-of-state plates are well past expired and everyone knows you live here with all of the bumper stickers you placed on your car.

99.9 KEKB - Grand Junction's Favorite Country logo
Get our free mobile app

Your luck is about to run out if you are driving with expired registration in Colorado

The Colorado legislature passed the Colorado Registration Fairness act in 2022 and on January 1, 2023, the act went into effect. Drivers who let their temporary tags expire or Drivers that have moved from out of state and have not registered their vehicles in the state of Colorado within 90 days will be charged for the back taxes owed and fees for delinquent registration.

How much will the expired registration cost?

We cannot tell you a certain number as taxes and fees can vary widely from vehicle to vehicle. These back taxes and fees will all be based on the vehicle that you own and your county of residence.


Colorado drivers do have a one-month grace period after their registration expires. Let's say your registration expires in March 2023. You have until April 30, 2023, to renew your vehicle registration. When April passes and you have not renewed your registration, you will be charged a late fee.

Late fees for registration in the state of Colorado are $25 per month with a maximum of $100. More information about vehicle registration late fees can be found at Colorado's Division of Motor Vehicles.

Colorado Banned These 'Offensive' License Plates in 2022

Check out some of the 'offensive' license plates that Colorado banned in 2022.

Funny + Obscene Banned Colorado License Plates Will Make You Giggle

Road rage is bad enough. Imagine if you had to pull up behind a car with a license plate insulting you. Luckily, the state of Colorado has banned some of these license plates to make the roads a happier place.


What Your Special Colorado License Plate Says About Your Driving

Do you have one of these specialty Colorado license plates? Here's what it says about your driving.


More From 99.9 KEKB - Grand Junction's Favorite Country