If you commonly use the phrase "I overheard" in Colorado, you'll probably want to stop after learning the law on eavesdropping.

Having a personal and private conversation in Colorado is a right that we all have and if you intrude on another person's conversation you're actually breaking the law.

Get our free mobile app

Curious Cats in Colorado Should be Warned

Now this will definitely be an interesting story to relay to your kids. We've all heard the phrase, "curiosity killed the cat," but who knew that eavesdroppers in Colorado were actually committing a class 1 or perhaps class 2 misdemeanor?

Eavesdropping in Colorado Is Illegal

Yes, it's true, eavesdropping on another person's conversation in Colorado is actually illegal according to C.R.S. 18-9-304.

The law reads:

(1) Any person not visibly present during a conversation or discussion commits eavesdropping if he:
(a) Knowingly overhears or records such conversation or discussion without the consent of at least one of the principal parties thereto, or attempts to do so; or
(b) Intentionally overhears or records such conversation or discussion for the purpose of committing, aiding, or abetting the commission of an unlawful act; or
(c) Knowingly uses for any purpose, discloses, or attempts to use or disclose to any other person the contents of any such conversation or discussion while knowing or having reason to know the information was obtained in violation of this section; or
(d) Knowingly aids, authorizes, agrees with, employs, permits, or intentionally conspires with any person to violate the provisions of this section.

So whether you record the conversation or not, eavesdropping on a conversation physically or through the phone is against the law in Colorado without the consent of at least one of the party members.

Colorado Misdemeanors & Sentencing

The penalty for eavesdropping in Colorado can carry a class 2 or class 1 misdemeanor. Now misdemeanors are no petty offense, but they do carry less weight than a felony.

According to Colorado Legal Defense Group:

  • Class 1 misdemeanors are punishable by up to 364 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
  • Class 2 misdemeanors in Colorado are punishable by up to 120 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $750.

Word to the wise, don't eavesdrop in Colorado unless you want to pay the price.

Strangest Laws in Colorado You're Probably Breaking Right Now

We all try our hardest to follow the law, even when we don't agree with them. We took a look at some of Colorado's laws and discovered a few that make no sense at all.

We know drinking and driving is illegal, but did you know riding a horse while intoxicated is illegal. Or take a mule or donkey into a building could get you in trouble.

And whoever threw a missile at a car is someone we'd like to meet.

Take a look at Colorado's most outrageous laws on the books.

LOOK: What major laws were passed the year you were born?

Data for this list was acquired from trusted online sources and news outlets. Read on to discover what major law was passed the year you were born and learn its name, the vote count (where relevant), and its impact and significance.

12 Frequently Asked Questions About Colorado's Weed Laws/2022

Amendment 64, under Governor Hickenlooper's term in 2012, was the one that made recreational use of, and retail sale of, marijuana OK for Coloradans. How much has sold, and what's the state of legal weed in the state? Here are some answers to your most asked questions about legal pot in Colorado.

More From 99.9 KEKB - Grand Junction's Favorite Country